Our Family History
Hudepohl Jewelers began its business venture in 1956, founded by Don Hudepohl and his wife Rita. Don learned the art of watch repair following his service in WWII and combined this love of watches with his wife Rita’s love of jewelry to create a unique experience where quality and customer service always came first. Thus, the current jewelry business was born.
The original location of the jewelry store was at DeSales Corner in East Walnut Hills and was named Rie-Don Jewelers. The store then moved to their current location on the 7th floor of the Provident Building at the corner of 7th and Vine Streets in 1972 and was renamed Don Hudepohl Jewelers.
Currently, Barry Hudepohl, the son of the original owners, runs the business. He earned his gemology certification in 1986 and took over the company in 1995. The store’s staff consists of 8 longtime employees as well as 2 recent, third generation employees. Between all of the staff, there are three gemologists with over 30 years of experience in the company.
Fast forward to 2017 and Hudepohl Jewelers is celebrating its 61st anniversary. Contributing to its long-term success is the store’s specialization in custom design jewelry and engagement rings. They carry a large variety of high quality diamonds, gem stones, and unique mountings as well as providing custom design capabilities, expert repair services, and competitive pricing.